The day I was on craft fail

To those in the crafting community, http://craftfail.com is a great way of checking out how those pinterest ideas turn out in real life.

http://craftfail.com/2014/08/pulled-apart-polka-dot-cake/

A little bit of back story first though, I was making this cake for my hen/bachelorette party. I forgot to grease the bottom of the cake pan, I did the lip and sides, just not the bit that was touching the majority of the cake…oops. However I laughed and sent it in to craft fail before I had even tried to save the damn thing, so it didn’t turn out as bad as I thought.

So the cake cooking looked ok

So the cake cooking looked ok

One I had scraped the pan it didn't look too bad. Apart from the fact it consisted of just crumbs which was noticeable once you cut into it

One I had scraped the pan it didn’t look too bad. Apart from the fact it consisted of just crumbs which was noticeable once you cut into it

Once you have iced it, who can tell anyway right?

Once you have iced it, who can tell anyway right?

Ok, so it was a little lumpy

Ok, so it was a little lumpy

I also attempted to make cake pops with the rest of the balls, hearts, cupcakes and stars I had made but not put in the cake. I think the photo of these speaks for itself…

They made lovely cake bites. FYI the candy on top is white chocolate mixed with raspberry powder and topped with freeze dried raspberry pieces.

They made lovely cake bites. FYI the candy on top is white chocolate mixed with raspberry powder and topped with freeze dried raspberry pieces.

At the end of the day, the important thing was that I tried and they tasted nice. Now let me go find my wine…

Leave a Reply

