Wire (doesn’t) work

So, today I have been taking part in my 6 week Jewellery making course. Part of this is learning how to use new things, last time was saw piercing, this week was wire work. A major part of today was learning how to make Jump rings. I can honestly say that unless I am in dire need of them to save my life I will never make them ever again. First you take a round object like a nail and place it in a vice with the end of the wire, secondly you pull it around the object in tight coils until your hands are bleeding, cover finished coil in masking tape, and then saw halfway through them until you have about 10 jump rings. Rinse, repeat. It is probably cheaper to buy hundreds of them when you factor in how long it takes and the cost of decent wire.

I do actually like wire work, its just a bit fiddly and I’m usually covered in stab wounds after using it. It’s great though as a medium to work with. There are few limitations to what you can do with it, as long as you have the right tools. I will upload some pictures later of the work we have done in the class to show you what you can achieve in the 6 weeks. I only go one night a week for 3 hours, I would love it to be more, but I take what I am given, and there may be a level 2 and 3 class starting which would be great as we have so much fun there.

I will admit I got good feedback from the work I did today, and also regarding my designs for my final piece. I am a big Game of Thrones fan and I wanted to design something based around that, so I have a Dothraki inspired multi-medium piece, that focusses on the medallion element of the Dothraki culture. I am quite proud of it to be honest as it is the first thing that I have fully designed and I think that it will be a little wacky, but something that I would wear.

Leave a Reply

